Fall Premier Auction 2017


Search By:
This lot is closed for bidding. Bidding ended on 11/4/2017

This lot features an impressive wooden plaque that reflects Mackey Award Winners from the San Diego Chargers. The NFL’s Mackey Award is presented annually to college football's most outstanding tight end. Established in 2000, the award is given annually to the tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of Pro Football Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey. The plaque featured here comes from The Better Boys Foundation from Chicago, Illinois, and acknowledges previous Chargers’ team winners via specially engraved silver nameplates including the year in question.

This oversized plaque, which measures 20” wide by 30” high, also sports a raised silver representation of the Mackey football player trophy in the center. The following players received the distinction (many of them were not tight ends) because, as is engraved at the top of the plaque: “Their participation in the Annual Mackey Award Banquet Helps the Better Boys Foundation Build Brighter Futures for Some of Our Nation’s Most Disadvantaged Children.” Chargers recipients included: Lance Alworth, Dennis Partee, Dick Post 1970; Don Smith, 1974; Don Woods, 1975; Louis Kelcher, 1979; Fred Dean and Dan Fouts; 1980; Kellen Winslow and Gary Johnson, 1981; James Brooks, Chuck Muncie and Kellen Winslow, 1982; Dan Fouts, Rolf Benirschke and Kellen Winslow, 1983; Rolf Benirschke, 1984; Ernest Jackson, 1985; Lionel James, 1986; Leslie O’Neal, 1987; and Rolf Mojsiejenko, 1988. The plaque, which weighs 17 pounds, already includes a chain on the back for easy display purposes.

Includes Letter of Provenance from the San Diego Hall of Champions.

Current Bidding
Minimum Bid: $750
Final prices include buyers premium.: $900
Number Bids:2
Email A Friend
Ask a Question
 I Have One To Sell