Summer Premier Auction 2019


Search By:
This lot is closed for bidding. Bidding ended on 9/28/2019

Copa América is one of the world's oldest soccer competitions and has traditionally featured only South America countries to determine the best national team in the continent. The first one took place in 1916, hosted and won by Argentina. La Albiceleste (White and Sky-Blues) have won the tournament 14 times, but Uruguay leads with 15. Surprisingly, Brazil is third with nine Copa titles. Since 1993, at least two teams -- one or more from North America and one from Asia -- have been invited outside of South America's usual 10 CONMEBOL [South American Football Confederation] teams.

The 1997 edition was held in Bolivia and featured 12 nations. Costa Rica and Mexico were the two non-CONMEBOL invitees, and El Tri finished in third. In the end, it was Brazil holding off the host nation in the Finals, 3-1, thanks to goals from Ronaldo, Denilson and Ze Roberto. Players, coaches and important staff members from the teams who finished first, second and third place received winners medals. Presented here is a Gold Champions medal issued to a member of the Brazilian National Team. The obverse has a lovely, two dimensional design of the Copa América trophy along with "COPA AMERICA" at top and "CAMPEON [Champion] 1997" at bottom. The reverse features the CONMEBOL logo and "C.S.F." The well-crafted, gold-plated medal (60 mm in diameter; 132 grams) hangs from a solid red ribbon and comes in NM-MT condition with very light wear.

Includes LOA from Brazil's National Team Technical Coordinator.

Current Bidding
Minimum Bid: $400
Final prices include buyers premium.: $2,225
Number Bids: 15
Auction closed on Saturday, September 28, 2019.
Email A Friend
Ask a Question
Have One To Sell

Auction Notepad


You may add/edit a note for this item or view the notepad:  

Submit    Delete     View all notepad items