FALL 2012 Auction
Search By:
This lot is closed for bidding. Bidding ended on: 12/2/2012

First bestowed in 1955 (to Alvin Dark), the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award is a recognition sponsored by the Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity - a collegiate brotherhood in which Lou Gehrig was a member when he attended Columbia. This glorious citation has been awarded annually without interruption to the present, and its recipients have included such diamond greats as Gil Hodges, Cal Ripken Jr., Tony Gwynn, Dale Murphy, Pee Wee Reese, Willie Stargell, John Franco, Curt Schilling and Ernie Banks. No fewer than 21 eventual Hall of Famers have been recognized by this award. The common thread bonding these Lou Gehrig Memorial Award members is that they were all major figures in their professional calling, but equally, they were all dedicated practitioners of civic responsibility. In that spirit, the 1989 winner of the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award was Ozzie Smith. From early on in his career, Ozzie’s dedication to community, civic and humanitarian causes has been unfailing. His charitable endeavors almost always benefit children, and he has been a substantial contributor to various charities such as Multiple Sclerosis, The Variety Club, Ronald McDonald House, Annie Malone Children’s Home, The Boys Club of St. Louis, and Kids in the Middle to name a few.

Ozzie’s Lou Gehrig Award plaque is reminiscent of a Hall of Fame plaque. The Balfour piece measures about 12" x 17" x 1" deep. At the center appears a sculpted portrait likeness of Gehrig. Then following is a caption plate declaring the award's mission: "Presented Annually by Phi Delta Theta Fraternity to the Major League Baseball Player Who Most Exemplifies the Character of Lou Gehrig Both On and Off the Playing Field." And the final engraved plate on the award names "Ozzie Smith St. Louis Cardinals."

This monumental award holds revered status in the pantheon of the game’s highest honors. Since the year of the award’s creation, the name of each recipient has been entered on the Lou Gehrig Award plaque at the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, thus memorializing every winner for the edification of all who seek exposure to baseball’s rich history. The Lou Gehrig Award is one of a mere handful to merit acknowledgement by the Hall. NM condition.

LOA from Ozzie Smith.

Current Bidding
Minimum Bid: $2,000
Final Bid(Includes Buyers Premium): $4,254
Estimate: $7000 - $10000
Number of Bids: 7
Auction closed on: 12/2/2012